Home General Azimio leaders call on supporters to reject 2022 presidential poll results

Azimio leaders call on supporters to reject 2022 presidential poll results

by kenya-tribune

Azimio One Kenya Coalition leader Raila Odinga has coiled an eight-point clarion call as he addressed supporters at Kamukunji grounds in regards to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) whistleblower claims that the August 9, 2022 polls were rigged.

Raila was in the company of NARC Kenya leader Martha Karua, Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka, Eugene Wamalwa and Roots Party leader George Wajackoyah among other leaders.

“We call on Kenyans to resist and demand the removal of punitive taxes that have led to punitive prices of products and services, including unga, milk, sugar, school books, fuel, electricity, bus fare, paraffin and school fees,” claimed Raila.

The opposition leader challenged President William Ruto to lay bare evidence on alleged murder plot against immediate former IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati as he dismissed handshake claims by Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua.

In the eight-point clarion call, Raila rejected the 2022 general elections results which were upheld by the Supreme Court.

He claimed that the Azimio brigade does not recognise William Ruto’s presidency.

Raila now wants President Ruto and the Kenya Kwanza leaders to resign as he alleged that the August 2022 General Election was rigged in favour of President William Ruto

Raila called on the Kenya Kwanza government to resign alleging that it has neither the mandate nor the ability to govern the country.

“We do not, and will not recognise the Kenya Kwanza regime and we consider the Kenya Kwanza government illegitimate… We rally our supporters to oppose the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party rule,” stated Raila.

On the ongoing allegations at the electoral body, Raila spoke to the recent dossier by a purported IEBC whistleblower which alleged that Raila emerged the victor of the August 9 presidential polls after garnering 8,170,355 votes as Ruto managed 5,919,973 votes.

“We demand the entire infrastructure, records of the 2022 election in the IEBC be made public; audited by impartial body,” said Raila.

During the disputed August polls, the then IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati declared Ruto the president-elect on August 15, 2022 with a 50.49 per cent after garnering 7,176,141 votes as Raila emerged second after garnering 6,942,930 votes, representing 48 per cent of the votes cast with Wajackoyah and David Mwaure of Agano Party came third and fourth respectively.

Raila has faulted Chebukati, CEO Marjan Hussein and two commissioners, Adi Guliye and Boya Molu alleging that they formed a cartel within IEBC to alter results through the contracted firms to supply services and materials to the body.


You may also like