Home General List of 20 approved speed governor vendors

List of 20 approved speed governor vendors

by kenya-tribune

The National Transport and Safety Authority has released a list of 20 companies that are approved as speed governor dealers.

An advertisement in the local dailies on Thursday listed the following companies:

  1. Central Vehicle Services Limited
  2. Karibia Technology Solutions Limited
  3. Simba Speed Governor
  4. HG Speed Limiters
  5. Trident Speed Governor
  6. Silicon Valley Solutions
  7. Radar Speed Limiter
  8. Mvita Speed Governor
  9. Spot Speed Speed Limiteer
  10. XPD Speed Governor
  11. Osta Tech Limited
  12. Ekas Tech Limited
  13. Fuelomat Kenya Limited
  14. Controltech Limited
  15. Orient Scientific Limited
  16. Cruz Digital Speed Governor
  17. Digital Speed Governor
  18. Mock Electrical and Electronics Limited
  19. Marts Logistics Limited
  20. Cruz Digital Speed Governor

Speed governors were made mandatory for public service vehicles under the infamous ‘Michuki Rules’.

The late John Njoroge Michuki, who was the Transport Minister, ordered that all matatus and buses have speed governors and passenger safety belts installed.

The move was aimed at restoring order in the chaotic matatu sector.

A year later, the Traffic Act (Cap.403) was enacted. A section of it reads:

“Pursuant to rule 41 A (b) (i) and (ii) of the Traffic Rules, 2005, the Minister for Transport approves the types of speed governors listed in the schedule to be fitted in every public service vehicle and commercial vehicle with a tare weight of 3048 Kgs and above, having been tested and passed as competent speed limiters.”

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: | WESTLANDS UNDERWORLD | Crooks, gov’t officials named in plot to grab man’s property

You may also like