Home Sports Mathare hold Bandari, Gor rout Tusker

Mathare hold Bandari, Gor rout Tusker

by kenya-tribune

Mathare United’s Job Ochieng produced an outstanding goalkeeping display to deny Bandari victory at the Ruaraka Grounds in a Kenyan Premier League (KPL)  clash.

In Kisumu, Gor handed Tusker FC a 5-2 defeat to get their season off to a flying start with captain Kenneth Muguna starring in the rout with two goals while Nicholas Kipkirui, Charles Momanyi and Boniface Omondi also getting their names on the scoresheet. Boniface Muchiri scored twice for Tusker.

Zedekiah ‘Zico’ Otieno made a bright start to his managerial debut at KCB FC as they demolished Sony Sugar away in Awendo with Enoch Agwanda, Stephen Waruru and Dennis Odhiambo getting the goals.

A second half double by last season’s top scorer Enosh Ochieng’ gave Ulinzi Stars a 2-0 win away at Kisumu All Stars while Wazito FC drew 1-1 with Nzoia United with Collins Wakhungu and Elvis Rupia trading the goals.

Ochieng made brilliant saves to deny Cliff Kasuti early in the first half,with the midfielder seeing his effort cleared off the line following some good work by William Wadri.

The hosts would quickly respond and caught Bandari on the counter,Kelvin Kimani palying a one two with James Kinyanjui but the resulting cross arrived tioo late in the box for John Mwangi to convert.

Mathare were however in control of the game for longer periods but their profligacy infront of the goal means they have now failed to win any of their last five meetings against the dockers.

Bandari were dealt with a major blow after Wycliffe Ochomo and Abdallah Hassan were all replaced early in the second half after sustaining injuries.

Mosha Benjamin who replaced Abdallah offered very little quality in attack and the visitors failed to create any clear cut chances in the latter stages.

The stalemate now mean,the two sides have gone three consecutive league matches with a scoreline of 0-0.



Mathare United

Starting XI: 30. Job Ochieng (GK) 16 David Owino 20 Martin Ongori 12 Andrew Juma 4 Harun Junior 22 Roy Okal 29 Chrispin Odour 7 Kevin Kimani 10 James Kinyanjui 13 John Mwangi 9 Chris Ochieng

Subs: 1. David Okello (GK) 23 Lennox Ogutu 5 Francis Omondi 8 Alphonce Ndonye 21 Clifford Alwanga 27 Tyson Otieno 24 Klinsman Omulanga

Bandari 1.Michael Wanyika, 13.Nicolas Meja, 3.Fred Nkata, 4.Brian Otieno, 19.Felly Mulumba(C), 22.Collins Agade, 6.Cliff Kasuti, 17.Danson Namasaka, 14.Wycliffe Ochomo, 24.William Wadri, 29.Hassan Abdallah

Subs: Justin Ndikumana, Dan Guya, Moses Mudavadi, Benjamin Mosha, Shaban Kenga, Wilberforce Lugogo

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Mburu: Tax evasion enriches a few at the expense of everyone | NEWSNIGHT |

You may also like