Home General Migne calls Wanyama, drops Were for Ethiopia clashes

Migne calls Wanyama, drops Were for Ethiopia clashes

by kenya-tribune

More by this Author

Victor Wanyama is set to captain Kenya in the back-to-back 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers against Ethiopia next month.

The Tottenham midfielder missed Harambee Stars’ historic win over Ghana’s Black Stars in Nairobi on September 7 owing to lack of fitness, but was on Friday named by coach Sebastien Migne for the crucial matches against Ethiopia’s Walya Antelopes. 

These matches will be played in Bahir Dar on October 10 and in Nairobi four days later.

Meanwhile, Migne has also made some interesting decisions, dropping Zesco United’s David ‘Calabar’ Owino, who is injured and his teammate Jesse Were despite his recent rich vein of form in the Zambian Super League, where he has scored 16 goals this season.

Maritzburg’s Brian Mandela, who also missed the Ghana showdown owing to injury and suspension, has however, been recalled, but there is no space for Beijing Renhe’s Ayub Timbe, who is sill suspended for both matches.

The forward is continuing his three-match suspension slapped on him by the Confederation of African Football (Caf) for his conduct during the opening match of this competition against Sierra Leone in Freetown.

Also recalled to the squad is Paul Were, formerly of AFC Leopards and Amazulu in South Africa, but is now based in Kazakhstan.

Coach Migné has also named nine players in a standby reserve list in case of injuries to any of the players originally called up.

Kenya requires four points from these two matches against Ethiopia to maintain their chances of qualifying for their first Africa Cup of Nations since 2004.

As Kenya faces Ethiopia, group F leaders Ghana will take on Sierra Leone in back-to-back matches.

Patrick Matasi (Tusker, Kenya), Farouk Shikalo ( Bandari, Kenya)

Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers, Kenya), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA)

Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka, Kenya), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Ismael Gonzales (Las Palmas, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan)

Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka, Kenya), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden)

Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United, Kenya) Sosthenes Idah (Thika United, Kenya), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari, Kenya), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United, Kenya), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya)

You may also like